CAREER | Upgrade Your Education …For Free

2

March 6, 2014 by Erin C

Student debt, cost of learning

As a girl with student loans lingering well into her 30s, I know first hand how expensive education can be. The worst part is… that it NEVER ENDS!

Now… I love learning, don’t get me wrong. That said, no matter how rewarding I find it personally or professionally, it’s practically impossible to fund with a mortgage, two small children and hopes of doing something other than work every single day of my life. A girl has got to spend her dimes on a trip to Mexico from time to time.

Am I right?

So here’s the beautiful thing. In recent years there has been a huge movement in the post-secondary industry to start making academia more accessible since the costs are becoming prohibitive.

Free and Low Cost Courses

What these institutions and organizations have done then is started putting FREE (that’s right…I said FREE) courses and even sometimes certificate programs entirely online for you to take. They are calledMOOCorMassive Open Online Courses“.

On top of that, there are a bunch of sites dedicated to low cost more skill based learning like learning how to use Adobe Illustrator or Basic Web Design.

Right now I’m cued up to take a couple courses over the next few months.

The upcoming ones on my list are:

[Coursera] Organizational Analysis taught online through Stanford University

[Saylor.org] Introduction to Human Resource Management

[Skillshare] Learn the Ins and Outs of Illustrator – $25

So I’m going to cut to the chase and give you a list of the very best places to find free education. Some are better than others but all have great information that will expand your mind and your skill set (and you gotta love something new you can put on your resume).

FREE COURSES AND PROGRAMS

Coursera

Saylor

Alison

edX

Open Culture

MIT Open Course Ware

LOW COST SKILL BASED LEARNING

Skillshare

Udemy

Good luck and I hope you take advantage of these amazing opportunities.

Remember – the quality of the programs vary so if you get a stinker, don’t lose heart. Just try another. At least you didn’t have to pay for it!

Have you ever taken a free online learning program before from one of the above or another source?

Tell me about how it went in the comments ok? I’m super curious!

Erin

[Image Credit]

2 thoughts on “CAREER | Upgrade Your Education …For Free

  1. Anonymous says:

    Lynda.com is rad. $25/month for all you can learn. From beginner to expert — Photography to html, it’s amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this Pennies to Polka Dots and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome!

Blonde short pixie in black and white

So glad you made it. I'm Erin. I've got 2 kids, student loans and a shopping habit. Luckily I've also got a knack for finding great deals and a passion for making sure moms take care of themselves too. I hope you love my blog!

Liebster Award

Explore Pennies to Polka Dots

