HEALTH | 5 Protein Based Snacks You Should Pre-Pack this Week

Leave a comment

March 11, 2014 by Erin C

When my life is going how I like it…I’m usually doing a couple of things well:

  1. Consistently working out and being active (3-4 days/week)
  2. Being a proactive planner with what I’m going to wear and eat for the week.

It’s really about making good decisions easy to make and taking out the last-minute guess-work (stressful!).

I actually heard that President Obama lets someone pick out his clothes for his so he can reserve his decision-making energy for more important things.

5 Daily Efficiency Tips from President Obama

SO TRUE!

Especially with the invention of smart phones we are constantly being forced to make decisions every 2 seconds (click, scroll, no…back, wait ..up..) and it can wear a person down.

That’s why when it comes to my afternoon snacks, I like to take the guess-work out all together by having one of these protein packed snacks on hand. Making choices at work all day makes me weak… and leads to me wanting to ‘treat’ myself to something that isn’t really a treat in the long run.

Make it easy on yourself and pack one of these so you avoid that mid-afternoon crash & devilish temptation:

1. 2 Devilled Eggs and 10 Cucumber Slices (170 cal)

Protein packed snacks

I love hot sauce, so it’s no surprise that I’ll boil my eggs and have them ready in the fridge to take with me but I’ll pack a little mayo & Frank’s Red Hot Sauce to go with them for work. I peel them, cut them in half, scoop out the yolks and mash them with a little light mayo and a bit of hot sauce and then put that tasty mixture back into the half egg. Super savoury and perfect with the cooling powers of the cucumber. Delish.

2. A Medium Apple Sliced, 1 tbsp of Peanut Butter + tbsp Jam (200 cal)

peanut butter in the jar

Apples are so good for you and packed with both flavour and texture which makes for an interesting snack sensation for your taste buds, especially if you cut the apple into slices and scoop some PBJ with every bite. Hits that sweet tooth square in the jaw.

3. 3 tbsp Hummus mixed + 1 tbsp Salsa + mixed veg for dipping (195 cal)

crudites, dipping vegetables

I like hummus (so good for you) but I go get a little bit bored with it. To add a little taste flare I love mixing it with a bit of salsa and the kicking up the variety by having different kinds of dipping veg on hand. 1 veg can be boring too so mix it up and give your plate some colour. It’s so much more satisfying when your snack is beautiful. Try orange carrots, green snap peas and yellow pepper. *don’t forget the after snack mints if you’re off to a meeting 🙂

4. Vega One Bar (240 cal)

These are definitely my new favourite. I’ve tried a lot of bars but I can never find ones I can stick with. I think these ones might be the ticket. Packed with 15g protein, Omega 3s, Gluten Free and tons of vitamins there’s almost no room to tell you they are delicious, The bonus? They can go anywhere with you. Throw them in a drawer or in your purse…they are great to have on hand for a moment of weakness. My favourite flavour? Chocolate Cherry.

5.   1.5 cups Mixed Berries + 15 raw almonds (195 cal)

mixed berries

If I could eat just one food for the rest of my life it would have to be berries. Blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, raspberries… I love them all! Not only are they just down right scrumptious but they are packed with antioxidants, polyphenols and fiber which can increase digestive health, improve memory, slow the aging process and decrease the risk of heart attack. You should be eating some everyday. Throw some raw nuts in there and you’ve got your protein boost for the afternoon.

Superfoods: 11 Berries to Improve Your Health

So go forth and pre-pack some smart snacks. Your belly will thank you for it over and over again this week.

What’s your favourite go to afternoon snack?

Tell me about it in the comments!

Erin

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this Pennies to Polka Dots and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Welcome!

Blonde short pixie in black and white

So glad you made it. I'm Erin. I've got 2 kids, student loans and a shopping habit. Luckily I've also got a knack for finding great deals and a passion for making sure moms take care of themselves too. I hope you love my blog!

Liebster Award

Explore Pennies to Polka Dots

